Bhubaneswar, derived its name from Tribhubaneswar, which literally means the Lord (Eeswar) of the Three World (Tribhuban), which refers to Shiva.

Along with the old town, the present day Bhubaneswar has often been illustrated as the Ekamra Khetra (Temple City). Although the modern city of Bhubaneswar was formally established only in 1948, the history of the areas in and around the present-day city can be traced to the 3rd century BCE and earlier. It is a confluence of Hindu, Buddhist and Jain heritage boasting of some of the finest Kalingan temples

Bhubaneswar replaced Cuttack as the capital on 19 August 1949, 2 years after India gained its independence from Britain. The modern city was designed by the German architect Otto Königsberger in 1946.

Being the capital city, the place eventually got an infrastructure boost, which led to the growth in communication, transport, sports, education and health facilities; and rose to become one of the foremost, to be found suitable for being developed as the a smart city of India

Not just in architectural and infrastructural splendor, the place is also endowed with a green canopy of forests which makes it a haven for daredevil spirit in you to explore and the beasts in their wilderness.Welcome to the whole package of a tourist’s dream destination. Welcome to Bhubaneswar 

Places to see

  • Lingaraj temple
  • Nandankanan Zoological & Botanical park
  • Udayagiri & Khandagiri caves
  • Dhauli
  • Mukteswar temple
  • Train Museum
  • Natural history Museum
  • Ekamra Botanical Gardens
  • Chandaka Sanctuary